speed of the pittsburgh sound’s Top 70 Tracks of 2009 pt.4, 10-1

With 2010 a little over a week old, I have finally gotten around to posting the fourth part of the speed of the pittsburgh sound’s Top 70 Tracks of the Year (actually it’s 71 due to a last minute addition).  In lieu being sick of the way I write (especially when doing track reviews) I have decided to release my top ten tracks without commentary.  Frankly, these songs speak for themselves and half of them have been have been written about literally hundreds times on scores of year end lists.

I will say that I am fairly proud of my top ten.  Some of the tracks are obvious, some are not.  Regardless, I am considering this to be my final word on the music of 2009, the first proper year of speed of the pittsburgh sound. It’s been fun as hell and the site hasn’t ruined my love of music (which, for a hot minute this summer, I totally thought would happen).  Hopefully speed of the pittsburgh sound and all those great Pittsburgh music blogs out there, you know who you are, can keep the momentum going into the new year.  Goodbye 2009, you were too good to me.  Onto the tracks after the jump.

10 (tie)  “Two Weeks” – Grizzly Bear

10 (tie)  “Sunlight” – tUnE-yArDs

9  “New Theory” – Washed Out

8  “Best I Ever Had” – Drake

7  “Actor Out of Work” – St. Vincent

6  “Tightrope” – Yeasayer

5  “Dog Days Are Over” – Florence and The Machine

4  “Crown on the Ground – Sleigh Bells

3  “Rockin That Shit (Remix)” – The-Dream ft. Fabolous, Juelz Santana, Rick Ross and Ludacris

2  “Hold the Line” – Major Lazer ft.  Mr. Lex and Santigold

1  “Stillness is the Move” – The Dirty Projectors

Leave a Reply

